On Tuesday 28th May 2019, the Steering Committee which acts as a governing board of the Rural Innovation Fund (RIF) met at TADB Headquarters to hold their first meeting following their appointment. The Steering Committee (SC) consist of nine members, five from government institutions and four from private organisations.

The meeting discussed the receipt and approval of the RIF’s operational guidelines as well as deliberate on the selected seven proposals out of the 157 submitted where the shortlisted applicants were given the opportunity to present their proposals before the SC and clarify any issues raised by the committee members.

The committee, in its inaugural meeting synonymously elected Mr. Mwombeki Baregu from the Financial Sector Deepening Trust (FSDT) as Chairman of SC for the next two years.